About Us

The founding of Alexo Therapeutics was based upon technology invented by Aaron Ring, K. Christopher Garcia, Kipp Weiskopf, Aron Levin, and Irving Weissman at Stanford University. This discovery involves soluble versions of signal regulatory protein-α (SIRPα) that have been engineered to bind CD47 with significantly greater affinity than natural SIRPα.1

Alexo is an independent, private biotechnology company. Since May 2015, we have raised a total of $61 million in funding, which was led by venBio and joined by Lightstone Ventures and Stanford University. Dr. Corey Goodman is our Chair and Dr. Jaume Pons our President and CEO.

Emma Abellana

Director, Finance and Controller

Melissa Aquino

Executive Assistant

Oscar Bisnar

Senior Accountant

Sangeetha Bollini

Director, Program Management

John Borgeson

Chief Financial Officer

Michael Chang, Ph.D.

Vice President, Operations

Amy Chen

Senior Scientist

Laura Doyle


Philip Fanning, Ph.D.

Director, Clinical Science

Danielle Fontaine

Facilities Assistant

Bora Han, Ph.D.

Vice President, Preclinical Safety

Ons Harrabi

Senior Scientist

Declan Hayes

Director of Strategy and Corporate Development

Steven Kauder, Ph.D.

Principal Scientist

Tracy Kuo, Ph.D.

Associate Director, Biology

Jaume Pons, Ph.D.

President and Chief Executive Officer

Sophia Randolph, M.D., Ph.D.

Chief Medical Officer

Emma Sangalang

Senior Scientist

Janet Sim, Ph.D.

Senior Director, Protein Science

Hank Stern

Vice President, Chemistry, Manufacturing, and Controls

Hong I. Wan, Ph.D.

Chief Scientific Officer

Michael Warner, J.D., Ph.D.

Acting General Counsel



  1. Kipp Weiskopf, et al. Science 341, 88 (2013);
    DOI: 10.1126/science.1238856;
    Abstract link: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/23722425